Australia bowl; Maxwell back, Willey and Ball play

TossAustralia chose to bowl v England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Australia’s captain Steven Smith has won the toss and chosen to bowl first against England in the inaugural international match at the new Perth Stadium.

Smith admitted that his decision was based largely on unknowns about the stadium’s drop-in pitch, which is an odd looking mosaic of dry grass and greener areas.

Glenn Maxwell has come back into the Australia side for the first time since last year’s tour of India in place of Cameron White but will bat at No. 6, with Marcus Stoinis promoted to No. 3. Mitchell Starc has returned to the team in place of Pat Cummins, who complained of a tight hamstring after the Adelaide match on Friday.

England have rested Chris Woakes and Mark Wood, their places taken by David Willey and Jake Ball.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Marcus Stoinis, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Mitchell Marsh, 6 Glenn Maxwell, 7 Tim Paine (wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Andrew Tye, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Alex Hales, 4 Joe Root, 5 Eoin Morgan (capt), 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 David Willey, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Tom Curran, 11 Jake Ball

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Cricket news from ESPN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *